2010 Washington, D.C. Awards Gala Honorees

Dolores Huerta &
Richard E. Chavez

Lifetime Achievement, Excellence in Community Service

Huerta began as a community organizer and co-founded the National Farm Workers Association. She currently serves as the Chair of the Dolores Huerta Foundation where she spearheads campaigns to serve disadvantaged communities across the nation.

Chavez was the first director of the National Farm Workers Service Center, a landmark organization that has upheld the rights of millions of farm workers. He has also committed his life to organizing and fighting for farm workers’ civil rights.

Elaine R. Jones

Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Legal Service
As NAACP Legal Defense Fund’s first female leader, Jones has inspired others with her commitment to pursue equal justice for all. Founded in 1940 by Thurgood Marshall, NAACP LDF is the nation’s oldest law firm fighting for equal rights and justice for people of color, women and the poor.

U.S. Representative Xavier Becerra

Excellence in Government Service Award
Congressman Becerra has had a long-standing commitment to fight for equity, justice and civil rights in our nation’s capital. He currently serves as Vice Chair of the House Democratic Caucus.

Henry L. Solano

Lifetime Achievement, Excellence in Community Service
As MALDEF Board member and partner Solano served as MALDEF Interim President and General Counsel last year during a transition period. MALDEF thanks Solano and Dewey & LeBoeuf, LLP for their generous contributions to the organization.

Copyright 2009 MALDEF — Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund